Adnams is a popular UK brewer based in Southwold, Suffolk. The brewer produces several great quality beers, including cask ale, lager, low and no alcohol beers, porter and stout, sparkling cider and sour beer. Production is typically 85,000 barrels a year. They also produce gin, vodka and whiskey through their Copper House distillery. In 1993, Adnams Extra won an award called the Champion Beer of Britain at the annual Great British Beer Festival.
Who owns Adnams? The Adnams family still owns the brewery today, with family members holding positions like chairman and non-executive director. The brewery was originally bought in 1872 by George and Ernest Adnams, back when it was known as The Sole Bay Brewery. Since the company was incorporated back in 1890, it has remained one of the UK’s most successful independent breweries.
Is Adnams beer vegetarian? That’s a very common question. The majority of Adnams beers use isinglass as a fining agent. This is a fish product, so sadly it means the beers are unsuitable for vegetarians or vegans. A lot of people also ask, is Adnams gin gluten free? The answer is yes - it’s made with juniper berries, orris root, coriander seed, cardamom pod, sweet orange peel and hibiscus flower.
These days the Adnams brewery makes a conscious effort to be sustainable and give back to society. The company distribution centre has its own bee hive with 500,000 rehomed honey bees, along with a Sky Garden - a roof with its very own ecosystem of plants. They also donate 1% of their profits every year to good causes via a fund called the Adnams Community Trust. In addition, the company takes part in regular beach cleanings on the stretch of coast that it’s located on. So there you have it; try Adnams beer for yourself today and you’ll be supporting a brewer that genuinely cares about the environment.